top of page

Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi (HSK) 

The Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi, translated as the Chinese Proficiency Test, is the standardized test of Standard Chinese language proficiency of Mainland China for non-native speakers such as foreign students and overseas Chinese.

HSK is the abbreviation of Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi and is an international standard skill test for persons who are not native Chinese Language speakers.  HSK is the official Chinese exam for foreigners, similar to Cambridge for English. The test was introduced in 2010 by the Chinese government. The HSK exam consists of two separate sections: a written and oral examination. The written exam consists of six levels from HSK level 1 to HSK level 6, and the oral exam is sub-divided into three stages of HSK Basic, HSK intermediate to HSK advanced. As you apply to study in China, this is one of the requirements for Chinese taught Master’s and Bachelor’s Degrees. 


Language Courses
On offer for UWC students and staff

bottom of page